Dr. Shirley's Web Courses

Old Testament Notes


The Lamentations of Jeremiah were written after the Fall of Jerusalem to the Babylonians in 586 BC
Lamentations is a series of poems or hymns expressing the desolation of those who saw Jerusalem and Judah in ruins
Each chapter corresponds to one Lament.
Chapters 1, 2, and 4 each contain 22 verses, one for each letter of the Hebrew alphabet. Successive verses begin with successive letters of the alphabet. This literary form is known as an acrostic.
Chapter 3 is also an acrostic, but with 3 verses to each letter of the Hebrew alphabet
Chapter 5 contains 22 verses, but is not an acrostic

Copyright © 1999 Shirley J. Rollinson, all Rights Reserved

Dr. Rollinson

Department of Religion
Portales, NM 88130

Last Updated: April 9, 2008

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional   Valid CSS!